Calendar

Welcome to the 2017 North Fork Trails Association activity calendar! Weather and other circumstances keep things a bit fluid, but the schedule below has most of the principle elements in place — enough for planning purposes, certainly.

(Enough talk, jump straight to the activities list.)

Scheduled Project Days

Unless there is a conflict with a significant North Fork event, most major projects are scheduled on the second Saturday of each month through October. The exception is the May project day, which is on the third Saturday.

Monthly Meetings

Regular NF Trails organizational meetings from late spring through fall are held on the second Wednesday of each month at 6:00pm at the Walker’s. (During the winter and early spring,  meetings may be held “down-valley” in order to encourage attendance by people who are not North Fork residents.) All meetings are potlucks, with the host providing the main course and everyone else chipping in with sides and desserts. The meeting in October is the NFTA annual meeting.

“Trails Project Days”

The third Wednesday is designated as a “Trails Project Day.” These are typically events that require more flexible scheduling and will likely be announced with less lead time than the weekend projects. Basically, it means that if people show up on those days, there will be something interesting going on.

Training

Training activities (first aid, chainsaw usage, GPS, etc.) will be listed once things firm up a bit more. Last year’s early fire season trashed our training arrangements. We hope to do better this year.

Short-Notice Activities

Finally, a number of additional activities may be organized on short notice — a week or less — in response to events and personnel availability. (Yes, some of us have real lives — but only some of us.)  Currently, these short notice  get-togethers are announced on the email list but don’t necessarily show up on the calendar or Facebook page.


All that being said, here’s the fixed part of our calendar through the end of the year. Use the “Contact Us” page if you have questions.

February

Wednesday, February 15, 10:00am-1:00pm – Winter Interlocal meeting.

May

Wednesday, May 10, 6:00pm – monthly meeting at the Walker’s. This is a potluck, with the host providing the main course and everyone else chipping in with sides and desserts.

Saturday, May 20, 9:00am (moved from May 17 due to weather) – Trails project day – Glacier View Mountain (Trail 266) tread repair.

Tuesday, May 30, 9:00am to 4:00pm – First Aid/CPR/AED training and certification at Sondreson Hall.

Wednesday, May 31, 1:00pm – Meet with USFS personel.

June

Saturday, June 10, 8:30am – Cyclone LO Trail (Trail 40) maintenance.

Wednesday, June 14, 6:00pm – monthly meeting at the Walker’s. This is a potluck, with the host providing the main course and everyone else chipping in with sides and desserts.

Tuesday, June 20, 9:00am to 4:00pm – First Aid/CPR/AED training and certification at Sondreson Hall.

Wednesday, June 21, 7:30pm – Summer Solstice Sunset Hike to Cyclone LO.

Wednesday, June 28, 8:30am – Trails project day (Coal Ridge area?)

July

Saturday, July 1, 8:30am – Moran Basin Trail (Trail 2) maintenance.

Saturday, July 4, noon – Polebridge 4th of July Parade, including a magical fundraiser for North Fork Trails!

Saturday, July 8, 8:30am – Moran Basin Trail (Trail 2) maintenance.

Wednesday, July 12, 6:00pm – monthly meeting at the Walker’s. This is a potluck, with the host providing the main course and everyone else chipping in with sides and desserts. [canceled]

Saturday, July 15, 8:30am – MWA sponsored Coal Ridge Lookout hike. Meet at the Polebridge Mercantile. Co-leaders: Bill Walker and Randy Kenyon. You must pre-register for this hike on the Montana Wilderness Association web site (Walk#9). Note: fall-back date is July 22.

Wednesday, July 19, 1:00pm-4:00pm – Summer Interlocal meeting.

Saturday, July 22, 8:30am – Fall-back date for MWA sponsored Coal Ridge Lookout hike. See July 15 for details. [not needed]

Wednesday, July 26, 8:30am – Trails project day (Trail 9 evaluation?)

August

Wednesday, August 9, 6:00pm – monthly meeting at the Walker’s. This is a potluck, with the host providing the main course and everyone else chipping in with sides and desserts.

Saturday, August 12, 8:30am – Trail Maintenance, Moose Creek Trail (Trail 9).

Wednesday, August 16, 8:30am – Trails project day

September

Saturday, September 9, 8:30am – Pacific Northwest Trail maintenance (Trails 3 and 26), as needed.

Wednesday, September 13, 6:00pm – monthly meeting at the Walker’s. This is a potluck, with the host providing the main course and everyone else chipping in with sides and desserts.

Sunday, September 17 – MWA sponsored hike to Review Mountain (Review Mountain Loop). You must pre-register for this hike on the Montana Wilderness Association web site (Walk#18). canceled

Sunday, September 24, 8:00am – Coal Ridge area end-of-season wrap-up

October

Monday, October 9, 8:00am – Coal Creek-Coal Ridge Trail (T239)

Wednesday, October 11 – NFTA annual meeting and election of officers at the Walker’s. This is a potluck, with the host providing the main course and everyone else chipping in with sides and desserts.

Wednesday, October 18, 8:30am – Trails project day

November

Wednesday, November 8, 6:00pm – monthly meeting at the Walker’s. This is a potluck, with the host providing the main course and everyone else chipping in with sides and desserts.

December

Wednesday, December 13, 6:00pm – monthly meeting at the Walker’s. This is a potluck, with the host providing the main course and everyone else chipping in with sides and desserts.